Newell Hall Rehabilitation

University of Florida

Gainesville, Florida

Project Details

Project Partners
Robert A.M. Stern
Melissa DelVecchio
Graham S. Wyatt

Download Project PDF


In response to a request from the University of Florida's student government to provide collaborative study spaces, the historic Newell Hall (William Augustus Edwards, 1910; renovated by Rudolph Weaver, 1944) was transformed into a vibrant collection of learning commons and team rooms arranged around an open stair.

Vacant since 2012, Newell Hall—the third oldest building on the University of Florida campus—was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 and was included as a contributing resource to the University of Florida Campus Historic District in 1989. Newell Hall's restoration was designed in consultation with the Florida Division of Historical Resources. Elements from the 1944 renovation compatible with the historic campus district, including shed dormers and enlarged windows, were preserved to present a record of the evolution of the building's architectural character.

An addition to the west mirrors the gabled end pavilion of Edwards's original composition and is linked to Newell by a glassy connector that houses offices and service spaces. A one-story café extends to the south, opening to a pergola-shaded terrace and courtyard that supports dining, recreation, and outdoor collaborative learning.

The Newell Hall Rehabilitation is our second project at the University of Florida, following on the completion of Heavener Hall in 2014.

Image Image Image Image Image