Skip to Main Content


October 31, 2019

20 East End Wins 2019 Stanford White Award

20 East End Wins 2019 Stanford White Award

The Institute of Classical Architecture and Art today announced that 20 East End Avenue has won the 2019 Stanford White Award for Residential Architecture: Multi-Unit Projects. RAMSA Partners Robert A.M. Stern, Paul L. Whalen, and Michael D. Jones, led the design effort. 20 East End was developed by Corigin; Montroy Andersen DeMarco served as architect-of-record. 

Filling out a Manhattan block, 20 East End Avenue carries forward the vocabulary of great New York apartment houses with the special inflection of the East End neighborhood. The massing and detailing recall 1920s and 1930s New York residential buildings, as do its materials—Cunningham grey brick with the first and second floors in limestone and a bush-hammered black granite water table—and its bay windows, Juliet balconies, and crown of setback terraces. 20 East End Avenue has a strong relationship to the street, with a traditional entrance on East End Avenue and a porte-cochère entrance off East 80th Street that leads to a cobblestone-paved motor court with lattice-work trellises and a fountain. Both entries connect to an octagonal lobby; an adjacent three-story winding staircase connects to resident amenities, including a library, a billiard room, a wine cellar, a wine-tasting room, a 3,000-square-foot gym, and a spa. The 17-story residential building offers 43 residences scaled for family living, including half- and full-floor apartments, three duplex maisonettes, and two penthouses. To find out more about the building, click here.

In addition, RAMSA's Christian Cullinan (Notre Dame '19), has won the Stanford White Student Project prize for his project, "Museum of the History of Segregation."

The Stanford White Awards program recognizes achievement in individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship & artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut. The awards program is named in honor of Stanford White (1853-1906), of the distinguished New York firm McKim, Mead & White, whose legacy of design excellence and creativity in architecture and the related arts continues to serve as a source of inspiration and delight. RAMSA's past Stanford White Award winners include the Museum of the American Revolution in Philadelphia (2018), Pauli Murray and Benjamin Franklin Colleges at Yale University (2017); North Hall and Library at Bronx Community College (2012); and 15 Central Park West (2012).

The 8th Annual Stanford White Awards will take place on Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at the Metropolitan Club of New York. For more information on the event, please click here.


  • One Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016 +1 212-967-5100 Contact
  • Robert A.M. Stern Architects © 2024. All rights reserved.